Western Gaels (@1.9) vs St Brigids (@2.1)

Our Prediction:

Western Gaels will win

Western Gaels – St Brigids Match Prediction | 15-09-2019 09:30

McManus, K. Nally (0-2); O. McNeela, R. OGara for Kevin Kilcline (38 mins), Kevin Kilcline for R. ROSCOMMON GAELS: J. OGara, C. Egan (0-1). Connolly, A. Gleeson; J. Duignan, M. Kilcline (0-3, 1 free); C. Hughes (0-1, a free), C. Dineen, P. Featherston; Kevin Kilcline, L. Gleeson; J. Subs used: T. Hannon (0-1), R. Mullen for Connolly (19 mins), D.

Dolan (50 mins), J. Grehan for OHara (44 mins), S. Byrne (1-0) for G. Dolan (2-2), P. Kilbride (0-4, one free), C. Subs used: D. BRIGIDS: S. Mannion; D. McInerney, C. Cunniffe for McHugh (half-time), N. ST. Murray (0-1) for Nolan (51 mins), G. Furey for MacNiece (45 mins), J. OHara (0-1), I. McDonnell for D. Nolan, G. Domican; E. Kelly (0-2); B. Stack (2-0), D. Stack (0-3), S. McHugh (0-5, two frees). Kilbride, P. Dolan; R. MacNiece; G. Sheehy, N.

Gaels allow St. Brigids run riot | Roscommon Herald

With Brian Stack, Cathal McHugh and Senan Kilbride on form in the forward line, St. The Gaels added one more score before the break, another Kilcline effort. Kieran Kilcline, one of the few Gaels players that looked interested, opened his sides account after 16 minutes after taking a good score on the run. Brigids quickly raced clear. By the eighth minute they were five points in front.

Prediction: Tulsk. Aidans have not had much luck in this championship so far and they will battle hard but Tulsk should win and edge closer to a semi-final spot. Tulsk have been going well with two championship wins under their belt and a recent league win against Roscommon Gaels to boost them. This is a game that St Aidans must win if they are to entertain any hope of contesting the latter stages of this championship.

Senan Kilbride tagged on a free before Niall McInerney and substitute Adrian Gleeson underlined Brigids superiority with further scores. Then Oisn Ward reacted quickest to a Ryan free that dropped short to point, a chance that could just as easily have ended up in the back of the net. Stephen Ryan registered a much-needed free for Western Gaels in the 51st minute.

Can Western Gaels unhinge the reigning champions?

St. In the quarter final in Kiltoom, Melvin Gaels were beaten by 219 to 010. Under the management of Kevin McStay, Liam McHale and Benny O'Brien, St. The three-in-a-row of Connacht titles, and their fourth in history, was then secured in a foggy and bitterly cold McHale Park, Castlebar, when a dominant second half performance saw the Kiltoom and Cam outfit defeat Mayo champions, Ballaghaderreen by 112 to 06. Brigids then went on the road to beat Salthill-Knocknacarra in the semi-final in Pearse Stadium by 015 to 08, thereby avenging their defeat in the 2005 Connacht Final at the same venue. Brigids secured a three-in-a-row of titles in Connacht in 2012, becoming only the second ever team to achieve that feat.

In the preliminary round they defeated Curry (Sligo) by 18 to 17. Brigids. However, in 2006, they went all the way and claimed the Shane McGettigan Cup in dramatic circumstances. A goal at the start of the game from David O'Connor spurred them on, and a point from Senan Kilbride 5 minutes from the end secured the one-point victory. In the semi-final they defeated favourites and previous All-Ireland winners, Crossmolina (Mayo) by 13pts to 16 in Dr. The final scoreline was 110 to 33, meaning Captain Mark O'Carroll received the Shane McGettigan Cup on behalf of St. Hyde Park. And it was also in the Hyde that the final took place where they beat favourites Corofin (Galway) with a dramatic injury-time goal from Karol Mannion.

Before the break, Senan Kilbride had lofted over two scores, the second a typical technique-perfect style kick from the full-forward. Moments later, a half chance fell to Cillian Egan at the other end. Brigids had the wind at their backs, but they didnt need it. Leading 0-9 to 0-1 after 20 minutes, Padraig Kelly misdirected a fisted effort for a decent goal chance.


On 26 February 2011 St. Brigids failed to overturn the result of 2007 and Crossmaglen prevailed by 211 to 111. Brigids travelled to the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick and beat the Cork and Munster Champions Nemo Rangers on a scoreline of 013 to 18, to qualify for the All Ireland Club Final for the first time. In the All-Ireland Final on St. Despite a huge following in Croke Park, St. Patrick's Day 2011, St. Brigids faced their semi-final conquerors of 2007, Armagh and Ulster Champions, Crossmaglen Rangers.

Brigids and resulted in a Connacht two-in-a-row for the first time. Brigids prevailed by 011 to 010. The Connacht campaign in the last months of 2011 again proved a successful one for St. After defeating Sligo champions Tourlestrane by 016 to 010 in Marckiewicz Park in the semi-final, they then faced Corofin in the final in Kiltoom, a repeat of the 2006 final. After a tense affair, St.

This promises to be a lively encounter between two good sides at this level. It could be close though. Glaveys are still building on the excellent junior success last year and have a lot of good players to call on. However at home Kilbride are still a force to be reckoned with and they should have too much for the Ballinlough based side.

News Daily Headlines

Garvan Dolan, Eoin Sheehy, Conor McHugh, Ger Ahearne, Darragh Sheehy, Mark O'Carroll, David O'Connor, David Nestor, Cormac Sheehy, Eddie Egan, Alan McInerney, Donal O'Connor, Padraig Kelly, Paul Fuery, Shane Mannion, Niall McInerney, Eoin Menton, Thomas Finnerty. 2013: Shane Curran, Gearoid Cunniffe, Peter Domican, Johnny Murray, Niall Grehan, Darragh Donnelly, Ronan Stack, Karol Mannion, Ian Kilbride, Damien Kelleher, Richard Blaine, Darren Dolan, Frankie Dolan, Senan Kilbride, Cathal McHugh.

St Barrys have lost two championship games so far and they will be hoping to get back on track here.It has not been a great championship for Ronans either and at home they will be hard to beat. But Barrys might just have the class to edge it with David Keenan on board.